Categories
Product Testing

Doing the Dodo – Dodojuice 8 Product Review.

IMG_20130624_142111

In the middle of a mass tidy up and organise ready for the forthcoming shows, I notice just how many dodo juice products I had lying around the shed and in my dodo juice detailing bag.

Which this a plan was hatched to put together a msss dodo juice review of every product I had, apart from my buff daddy machine polisher as this will come at another date. So whats on test.

  • Purple Haze Wax
  • Home Brew Wax
  • Lime Prime
  • Lime Prime Lite
  • Supernatural Clay Bar
  • Supernatural Carnauba Glaze
  • Born Slippy ( Clay Lube)
  •  Tyromania (sample pot) Tyre dressing

Couldn’t think of a better way to test the waxes and glaze then pitch them up again each other, but with an added twist of doing half and half test with lime prime and lime prime lite first to clean the paint.

The test subject this time was my MK2 Golf as its been laid up for a while waiting for a engine rebuilt/refresh to be completed, I gave the bonnet a bit of attention.

2013-06-24 14.15.56

Lime Prime on the left and Lime Prime Lite on the right, first impressions side by side you can tell the lite contains very little cut and is greasier in application, the Lime Prime is chalkier in consistency and hazed to a darker colour on drying. Removal of either product is easy and leaves a give clean finish, but removed from the panel with little to no white dust to chase around.

So with the panel cleansed I taped up the bonnet in to 2 half’s and the half’s in to thirds, so both sides have Purple Haze | Home Brew | Carnauba Glaze

2013-06-24 15.34.01

The overall effect on the end result, wasn’t much different if i’m honest between the Lime Prime side and Lime Prime Lite side. The benefit is more in the  prep work and the cut within Lime Prime which will make a difference on swirlier paint work.

A quick beading shot, the glazed areas seemed to have a tighter beading than waxed area.

2013-06-24 15.44.42

And reflections in dull overcast light, seems strong I later levelled the whole panel off with a coat of Purple Haze all over.

2013-06-24 15.55.42

The next item to test was Tyromania, picked up a sample pot from Alex at Elite Car Care at Edition 38 show last year. I completely forgot I had this until I started having a sort out.

I remember seeing this being used on some roof rails with impressive results, with this in mind I decided to tackle the bain of my life the GTI arches on my MK2

2013-06-24 16.26.00

The best way I found to apply this was with a tooth brush to work deep in to the plastic texture, followed by buffing off with a micro fibre cloth to bring a statin finish.

2013-06-24 16.29.42

2013-06-24 16.34.14

Being a Wax the water just beads off the arch, I applied the wax to the arch a few weeks ago and the finish is still a deep satin colour.

2013-06-24 16.34.59

The other product’s I’ve used from dodo juice range are Supernatural Clay Bar and Born Slippy ( Clay Lube) as products they work hand in hand with each other, the clay lube compliments the mild mature of the clay bar without leaving heavy marring to the panel.  The Golf has be parked near a tree so I gave the off side wing a quick going over with the clay and lube.

2013-06-24 16.15.15

Always find it hard to show the results of clay baring as it more a feel thing, rather than a visual effect. With supernatural clay bar the panel is left contaminants free after a few quick passes.

Dodo Juice have recently released a few new products to there line up, and whilst we havent exhausted there full line up we’re waiting on word to reach us from there Mauritius HQ, but  very excited to try something new from the brand.

Words and Pictures : Craig

By Craig

www.euro-werks.co.uk web admin and site builder.

Leave a comment